After a motor vehicle accident, all drivers involved have the responsibility to remain on the scene. Yet, another driver might have collided with you and decided to flee afterward. Their decision may especially trouble you if you sustained injuries from the accident.
Because Georgia follows fault-based insurance laws, you may worry that you will have to pay for your medical expenses out of pocket. You have options, though, for making sure they do not burden you.
Understanding your insurance options
Following a hit-and-run accident in Georgia, you will go through your insurance policy’s uninsured motorist (UM) and underinsured motorist (UIM) coverage to file your claim. This type of coverage is optional in the state. Yet, your insurance company must have offered it to you when you purchased your policy.
By state law, your minimum UM/UIM coverage limit must be $25,000 per person for bodily injury. You must also have minimum coverage limits of $25,000 per accident for damage to property and $50,000 per accident for bodily injury. You have the option, though, of purchasing coverage with higher limits.
Understanding your legal options
If you sustained serious injuries after another motorist hit you and fled the scene, your insurance coverage may not cover all your medical expenses. Your options for pursuing additional compensation, then, depend on whether the police found the at-fault motorist. If they did, you may want to file a civil suit against them. Keep in mind that the at-fault motorist might have fled if they could not afford insurance, so you will want to consider whether they could pay the compensation you seek. If you choose to file a personal injury suit, Georgia’s statute of limitations for doing so is two years from the date of your accident.
Moving forward after a hit-and-run accident requires you to have a thorough understanding of your insurance and legal options. An attorney can help you work out a plan for working toward a settlement that reflects your needs.