What If I Was Injured in a Car Accident With a Super Speeder in Georgia?
In the state of Georgia, being in an accident is bad enough, but being in an accident with a Super Speeder is even worse. This is because the faster a car is going, the more damage it can cause to the car, and the more severe the injuries it can cause.
If you have been hurt in a car accident that involved a “Super Speeder,” you may be unsure of how this could affect your potential compensation. Our car accident lawyers at Prieto, Marigliano, Holbert & Prieto, LLC can guide you through the process of understanding Georgia’s Super Speeder laws and your rights regarding same.
Super Speeder Laws
There are two conditions that make someone a “Super Speeder” under Georgia law:
- Driving 75 mph or more on a two-lane road; or
- Driving 85 mph or more on any other road or highway
Any driver convicted of violating Georgia’s Super Speeder laws can be fined $200. This is in addition to any other fines or penalties incurred for breaking the speed limit. If the driver fails to pay the fine within 120 days, his or her license will be suspended. The only way to remove this suspension is to pay the original $200 fine, along with an additional $50 administrative fee.
Super Speeder laws apply to all drivers who choose to drive in the state of Georgia, including those who live out of state. An out-of-state driver who fails to pay the Super Speeder fine will lose his or her privilege to drive in the state of Georgia. And, due to reciprocity laws, most states will honor Georgia’s Super Speeder laws and suspend the driver’s license in his or her home state, too.
Not being able to drive in or around Georgia can cause a severe headache for anyone who lives in Georgia, or in any of the surrounding states. If you find yourself in one of these situations, talk to one of our lawyers at Prieto, Marigliano, Holbert & Prieto, LLC. We have dealt with these situations before and can help you get your driving privileges back.
Accidents Caused By Super Speeders
You might think that the state of Georgia would penalize Super Speeders more for causing an accident. Unfortunately, this is not the case. The Super Speeder laws simply add an additional $200 fine to the normal penalties a speeding driver would incur.
However, this does not mean that speeding drivers who cause accidents do not suffer the consequences of their behavior. Drivers who violate the Super Speeder laws may be found negligent under Georgia’s personal injury laws. In fact, any driver who exceeds the posted speed limit by 20 mph or more can be considered negligent under state law.
In Georgia, negligent or reckless drivers who cause an accident may be held liable for the injuries they inflict. On top of any civil penalties they can incur, negligent drivers may also face up to 12 months in jail and fines of up to $1,000. If the victim dies as a result of the driver’s negligent behavior, then this is a wrongful death, and what would have been a misdemeanor charge is then upgraded to a felony.
In addition to driving 20 mph or more, there are several other factors the state of Georgia defines as “negligent.” Speeding in a construction zone, the failure to yield to emergency vehicles or buses while their stop signs are activated or driving aggressively or in an uncontrolled manner are all behaviors that the law may define as negligent.
Courts typically order drivers convicted of negligence in the state of Georgia to pay any costs incurred by their victims. Medical expenses, lost wages, and property damages can all be recovered. Additionally, victims of negligent drivers may seek compensation for the pain and suffering that driver caused.
Injured By a Super Speeder? Call Us!
If you have been injured by a Super Speeder in the state of Georgia, you may not know what your first step should be in getting the compensation you deserve. Even if you have evidence that the other driver was negligent, his or her insurance company may not be willing to pay for your expenses.
This is why it is crucial to seek representation if you have suffered an injury resulting from someone’s negligent behavior. Our knowledgeable lawyers at Prieto, Marigliano, Holbert & Prieto, LLC take the time to fully invest ourselves in your case so that we can provide you with the expert advice you deserve.
Call us today at (855) 329-7144, or fill out the contact form on the right to be connected right away with an experienced member of our team. The best part? You can speak with one of our experienced lawyers for free. Not only that, but you are under no obligation to retain our services.
We are here to help point you in the right direction – whether that ultimately includes us or not. So, what are you waiting for? Call us today!